Get 3 days delivery to United States (US) for $5.5!
Get free shipping above $99

Is CBD Legal in Utah? Learn the Laws

CBD Products » Blog » Is CBD Legal in Utah? Learn the Laws
utah_cannabis

CBD stores are springing up in different cities in Utah. As more people are turning to natural medicines to manage various health conditions, the demand for CBD has continued to skyrocket.

Thanks to the 2018 farm Bill, CBD is legal in almost all the fifty states of the US. Our experts at Happy Garden CBD have done extensive research on CBD in Utah and how best you can access it in the state.

Is CBD legal in Utah?

CBD is legal to purchase in Utah. However, it may depend on how it gets produced. We can obtain CBD from both the hemp plants. And marijuana.

The primary difference between hemp and marijuana is the amount of THC they contain. THC is a psychoactive compound that produces a feeling of high when ingested.

CBD extracted from marijuana is known to have high levels of THC that is considered illegal in the state.

On the other hand, Hemp-derived CBD gets defined as cannabis that contains less than 0.3% THC concentrations in dry weight.

You certainly would not get high from consuming CBD made from industrial hemp.

With hemp-derived CBD, you are likely to enjoy the benefits owithout having to bother about any psychoactive effects. Before discussing CBD laws in Utah, let’s briefly look at the cannabidiol itself. 

The 2018 Farm Bill and CBD 

Before the 2018 farm bill, hemp and all types of CBD were categorized as Schedule 1 substances under the Controlled substances Act of 1970.

Schedule 1 substances under the Act were defined as drugs with a high chance of abuse and addiction and no medical benefits. The Act also prohibited any research that may have brought to light any possible benefits of the cannabis plant.

While the 2014 Farm Bill allowed educational research on hemp, it didn’t change hemp production and use.

The 2018 Farm Bill was the real breakthrough for hemp production and hemp-derived products. The law removed hemp from the Schedule 1 list of the Controlled Substances Act.

It reclassified hemp as an agricultural commodity that is federally legal to cultivate and process in the United States.

The 2018 Farm Bill defines industrial hemp as cannabis that contains less than 0.3% THC in dry weight and marijuana as cannabis with more than 0.3% THC in concentration levels.

As a result of this distinction, hemp and other hemp derivatives, including CBD, is legal under federal law across the United States.

However, the Bill reserved the right for States to regulate and restrict hemp cultivation and sales of hemp derivatives, including CBD. States may choose to regulate it in food beverages, dietary supplements, and cosmetic products.

 Although Utah aligned its CBD laws with the 2018 farm Bill, the state still provides regulations regarding CBD consumption. 

CBD Laws In Utah 

Before House Bill 3001, individuals who had to purchase CBD in the state would need to have a hemp extract regulation card.

The law legalizes the production and sale of hemp-derived CBD products with less than 0.3% THC. CBD sourced from cannabis can be legally purchased from state-licensed pharmacies by medical marijuana patients in the state. 

Utah CBD Licensing Requirements

All growers, processors, and sellers in the state must be licensed annually by the Utah Department of Agriculture and food commissioner. Growers, processors, and sellers who run short of the law are subject to fines.

However, the state does not prosecute growers who violate licensing requirements unless they intentionally cultivate marijuana instead of hemp. 

Utah CBD Testing Requirements 

Under CBD laws, all products must be tested and labeled in state-owned facilities. Testing gets done to ascertain the THC and CBD concentration levels and any other cannabinoids listed on the labeling.

Samples of a product containing more than the 0.3% THC threshold gets discarded. In addition, the state requires a strict check for contaminants, mold, and fungus in every CBD product. 

What is the possession limit of CBD in Utah

Currently, hemp-derived CBD products do not have any possession limits. However, CBD extracted from marijuana has a possession limit, and users must have a medical marijuana card or a letter of recommendation from their medical provider. 

Buy High-Quality CBD At Happy Garden CBD 

Happy Garden CBD offers you premium CBD strains with high CBD concentrations and less than 0.3 THC levels.

 If you think of good quality CBD, Happy Garden CBD has covered you. We take pride in our efficient service delivery to keep our customers happy. 

We invite you to try out our fantastic collection of products and enjoy a fulfilling CBD experience. 

Related Posts
Here’s your first 5% off